Skip to content

Home

March 20, 2012

Today I moved house.

Due to a bit of a timing juggle I moved out of my beloved one bedroom rental in the city back to my brother’s place.

I’m not into material things so I’m surprised by how many I have, and also my reaction to leaving my unit. It was my first solo place in Melbourne after living with my brothers (they’re a lot younger and I was the youngest’s guardian for a bit).

Having my ‘own’ home was an absolute delight. It was full of sunshine, central and when I came home it was… just as I left it. I played my own music, sang offensively and pants were always… optional.

As much as I’d like to deny it, it also got caught up in my idea of myself. I felt like living in the city was a bit spesh. And I feel like moving back to my bros makes me a bit of a loser. Of course which lease I sign makes no difference to me as a person, so it’s an intriguing situation.

On the other hand, the financial freedom of having less overheads is fantastic. The possibilities of contracts finishing up in the near future, and no too firm ties to Melbourne are immense. I could choose to live… anywhere.

I’m a gypsy type. I struggle with the idea of home, because although I am restless when settled, I’m a little uncomfortable with no fixed address.

It’s one of those days. Sad goodbyes, but so much possibility!

20120320-192110.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kealey permalink
    March 21, 2012 12:00 am

    You are awesome.

Leave a Reply

