Skip to content

Hong Kong Day 1: Trams, shopping and snapping

January 15, 2012

I’m in Hong Kong for a week checking out Hong Kong Fashion week and lots and lots of dumplings. I’m experimenting with some different things on the blog this year so there’ll be a mix of food, fashion, arts and whatever else crosses my path – love to hear your thoughts on what you like!

I was last in Hong Kong for fashion week in July last year and fell in love with the city. It’s always buzzing, unpretentious, overflowing with food and has double-decker trams!

I landed early in the morning, and had many hours to kill before checking in at the hotel. I ended up walking from Causeway Bay to Central, which isn’t too far as the crow flies but my feet certainly felt it!

Along the way I tried to force myself to keep my camera around my neck like a tourist (I am after all) and snap what took my eye. I was pretty self-conscious (maybe I need a lense with better zoom for long-distance snapping?), but got a few.

Many markets, with many stalls, but only one guarded by this guy.

Dumplings at Din Tai Fung

There is some amazing window dressing here!

Found the travelator which takes you up the huge hill in central

Visited some local parks (three hours sleep on flight... not yet showered. Perhaps should have jumped in?)

Checked into Hotel

Bought the Michelin guide - and have bath in room! That's a plan (which wasn't carried out - fell asleep)

I’m working on some specific posts, in the meantime here’s a little experimental video from the top of the tram:

And if you’re super keen, you can check out my Hong Kong Flickr album: plenty of food, a pooch, some sights and some great window dressing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

