Skip to content

my email to Mr Windsor and Mr Oakeshott

June 23, 2011

TO: Tony.Windsor.MP@aph.gov.au, robert.oakeshott.mp@aph.gov.au

Dear Mr Windsor and Mr Oakeshott

I’m writing to you to ask you to please support the Truth in Labelling – Palm Oil bill today.

Of course I’m concerned about the health issues. That palm oil can be labelled as healthy-sounding vegetable oil but has the same effect on my waistline as butter is clearly distressing. (You should see my waistline. It is palm-oil affected.) I’ve heard of people who’s children are allergic to palm oil who have no idea which products it’s in. How terrifying. And we’ve gone to all that trouble with the heart tick of approval only to laden products with an oil which is cruel to arteries. No brainer really (that’s not to suggest that anyone who has ignored this issue thus far had none… just…).

Of course I sympathise with the fruit purists who quite rightly point out that fruit from the oil palm is not in fact vegetable at all.

And I definitely sympathise with this lady:

quite frankly she intimidates me a bit. Look at those eyes.

Do you want your grandchildren to be able to?

I personally, really, really want to know when the palm oil in products I use is unsustainable – farmed on land cleared from rainforests – or sustainable – responsibly farmed where it benefits communities and doesn’t destroy ecosystems and push species to extinction.

Please please. Please.

All the very best,

Lou Pardi

Lou Pardi

Freelance journalist, editor & copywriter

write me: loupardi@loupardi.com
read me:  www.loupardi.com
tweet me:@loupardi
trunk me: www.trunk.ly/loupardi
link me:   www.linkedin.com/in/loupardi

 

5 Comments leave one →
    • LouPardi permalink*
      June 23, 2011 9:21 am

      Thanks. Not sure these negate the cost of wiping out several species?

    • LouPardi permalink*
      June 23, 2011 9:20 am

      Thanks Peter. Will have a read. I’m pretty sure you’ll find that unsustainable palm oil farming does far more harm to communities than a regulated, certified sustainable palm oil industry will. If you’ve got any research to the contrary – I’d love to help improve that system.

  1. LouPardi permalink*
    June 23, 2011 9:26 am

    Peter – happy to have this conversation, but would appreciate it if you didn’t identify your email as peter@loupardi.com – we’re clearly not affiliated. Cheers Lou

Leave a Reply

