Skip to content

The Questioning… Tresna Lee

April 18, 2011

It’s hard not to adore this girl. She knows Melbourne laneways like the back of her hand, she can sniff out a killer cocktail at fifty paces, she’s whip smart and cute as a button. And now she’s taking select groups through the labrynth that is Melbourne hospitality. Hold onto your secret doorknobs compatriots… we’re questioning Tresna Lee.

The face of the modern Geisha?

Question One:
What’s Geisha 2.0 and how did it come about?

Geisha 2.0 is my latest venture. I take people out in the city of Melbourne to visit restaurants, bars and cafes. It’s all un-planned and the focus is on adventure, discovering new venues and trying new flavours. In a typical evening we visit anywhere between three and six venues and everything unfolds in a natural and spontaneous way. I take out business travellers, holidaying couples, small groups of friends and even groups of what I call awesome randoms – people who have never met but want to have a Melbourne experience with new and interesting people. It breaks my heart when I hear of a tourist having an average meal or coffee in Melbourne, so I started it as a way to expose more people to the amazing dining options we have.

Question Two:
You’ve experienced quite a bit of what this here earth has to offer, what’s your current modus operandi?

I’m all about fun, food, meaningful relationships and challenging my self beliefs. As soon as I feel obligated by something that doesn’t feel rewarding, I push myself to move on. I grew up in Melbourne and moved to Sydney when I was 17. Coming back after 12 years away as a ‘grown up’ is an absolute adventure. I feel like this is my home town, but even after being here for a year I still see everything with tourist eyes. From a work perspective I’m now interested in learning and having lots of stimuli, so I don’t really do anything full time. I did the corporate nine to five for almost eight years and then decided to give it away to pursue what excited me most. I now do lots of part time activities – build my blog foodhands.com, work a few nights in Melbourne restaurants, run my Geisha 2.0 tours and daydream about new creative pursuits.

Question Three:
Walk us through your ultimate holiday…

My holidays are always focussed on food. Where do I go for the most authentic local food? What’s the regional specialty? What time should I wake up to ensure that I can fit in as much food as possible? You’ve only got to check out my Flickr stream to see that most of my holiday snaps are focussed on food.Ā 

Thanks Tresna!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 5:07 pm

    Geisha 2.0 = great idea + wicked name! Love the ethic and design of her foodhands blog too. Good on you Tresna for following your passion and sharing with other people. You sound like my kind of gal. šŸ™‚

  2. April 18, 2011 9:53 pm

    This sounds like a great idea – have spent many nights in foreign city’s when something like this would have been wonderful!

    • April 19, 2011 10:54 am

      Alice – thank you for your kind words! I feel very fortunate to be living a life filled with people and activities that inspire me and only hope that I can encourage others to take risks to go and find the “thing” that gets them jumping out of bed in the morning šŸ™‚

      Melbourniangirl – Agree that it would be awesome to have a Geisha in a foreign land….I’m hoping that Geisha 2.0 makes visitors to Melbourne feel welcome and residents feel lucky.

Leave a Reply

