Skip to content

sittin’ on top of the world…

November 29, 2010

You would not believe how many songs include the above lyrics… whichever resonates with you, sure, that’s the one I was thinking of.

It’s Summertime (and the livin’ is easy) in Melbourne-town (at least for the next 16 minutes. Then get your gumboots on).

Word on the street is that the future of Melbourne lies in rooftop recreation and I, for one, am all for… lifts. The rooftop at the top of the treasure trove that is Curtin House is truly excellent. I thought it couldn’t get more excellent, then the legendary Raph (of Raph Boogie/BKTM) planted a Beatbox Kitchen there and I thought it was complete. Now they’re firing up the projector for rooftop cinema. Surely it can’t improve? Okay, if there were a banana chair, that would be it. It. Okay and mojitos (see how greedy I get when I’m on a roll?).

Speaking of rolls (SEGUE, HIGH FIVE!) the Beatbox Kitchen burgers are like nothing you have ever tasted. If you’re a carnivore, the 170gram grass-fed beef patty will satisfy you, if you’re feeling clucky, there’s a schitzel wrap, or if you’re feeling mushy (for those romantic comedy flicks) the Shroom Burger is freaking gorgeous. Here’s a picture of mine enjoying the view. Little does he know…

Presenting the burger, Simba-style

 

Considering the awesomes behind Beatbox Kitchen (Raph’s partner in crime is none other than Beci Orpin) quite unsurprisingly the menu is a visual delight. That’ll explain why I’m salivating then. Okay it’s the relish. (every time I say relish in my head I sing ‘cherish the life we have’, but say ‘relish’ instead of ‘cherish’. See the insight you’re getting on this blog? Staggering I know. I feel we’ve grown closer).

 

yes. one of each please.

 

Order ahead. You could do a lunch fly-by. And run it off on the stairs. Genius.

 

Sure. You can have one. Or you know, GETYOUROWN. Sorry. Sorry. It's the relish, it drives me craaazy.

 

Oh, who's that pretty lady? (@busichic I reckon)

 

These boys are trying to act natural whilst gagging to be in the picture. They're doing quite a good job.

 

So that’s it. Of course there are a plethora of electronic options rather than just heading up to the top of Curtin House to see what’s going on (252 Swanston Street, and for Rooftop, just keep going up until you can’t go up any more. If you get tired on the way down I highly recommend pulling up a carraige at Toff in Town for a rest).

www.beatboxkitchen.com
www.twitter.com/beatboxkitchen
www.rooftopcinema.com.au
www.twitter.com/rooftop_cinema

** I don’t use brackets like this in real life. It’s my pardi, and I’ll bracketise unconventionally if I want to.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 10:20 am

    I’m so there. Always on a burger mission 🙂

  2. Kimberley permalink
    November 30, 2010 10:46 am

    Views, food and film – could it get any better?! LOVE Melbourne for having all of this greatness around!!
    PS: ❤ the Simba reference. xx

  3. November 30, 2010 4:41 pm

    Sounds delish! Was there room for an ice cream sandwich?
    May have to check it out next time I’m in Melbourne-town.

  4. December 1, 2010 12:12 pm

    sooo tasty, I want me some shroom burger now. And thanks for the pictures, lady – since I hope to embark on a career of handmodelling, may I use featured photo of my holding yer shroom in my port-obello-folio? Xx

  5. Edward permalink
    December 1, 2010 11:44 pm

    Clearly you were thinking of the Proclaimers’ “I’m On My Way” (in which the Proclaimers are thinking of Al Jolson’s ” I’m Sitting On Top Of The World”). I must have one of these burgers – can’t beat a team that proudly grinds on the premise. Meanwhile, where can one get a decent burger in Docklands? Sadly my powers of persuasion do not yet extend to convincing a software development team to journey to the next suburb for Friday lunch.

    • loupardi permalink*
      December 3, 2010 12:28 am

      I am still thinking… James Squire? I shall research. Maybe you want to try WTC Wharf (behind world trade – too far?).

Leave a Reply

